Bobby pins, Hair Pins, etc.

Picture
Here is the ultimate basic, second to the average hairtie. The bobby pin. These suckers help you pin back bangs, pullbacks, pin up updos, buns, even help hair-wrap ponytails. I have heard that only the more expensive, heavy-duty ones do any good, and that is probably true. bobby pins are an important staple that you should spend a little more on.

Picture
My mom bought some of these, but isn't sharing them :( Anyhow, I did use them a couple times for other hairdos before she hid them, and I think they work pretty well in buns and updos. They're good for replacing the duty of a group of bobby pins, but as my opinion is with single-purpose or non-versatile hair tools, don't buy them unless you are going to use them a lot. (Still, they are pretty cool.)

Picture
I lost all of mine, but these are still pretty useful. They're especially good for updos and buns, especially if you don't want to bend up good bobbies.
Actually, I do have some others of these' but they're made of cheap, thin metal that bends SO easily, so buy sturdy ones if you plan on using them.
Something I've had trouble doing is a french twist, because so many tutorials use these pins or a special french twist comb.

Picture
No matter how hard I try, I can never master the hair chopsticks. My mom, though, absolutely loves them and uses decorative ones all the time (and pencil s when she's working). Somehow, she gets them to work for her, which is awesome.
If you're going to see if you can get them to work, though, don't use the cheap bamboo chopsticks you get at takeout restaurants (learned that the hard way). Try with the hair ones.
I think these ones are really just based upon preference, practicality, and whether or not you can even figure it out.


Picture
I have a couple pins that are similar to these, and I have only found them useful in one style so far, but I think these are meant to be used as a only-need-one pin for hair buns. If you can figure out a way to make them work for your style, go for it. I would probably find them useful If I knew what to use them for :P

Picture
This is a picture I found that pretty much explains each kind of pin in a short blurb.

Picture
I found This page--it has a guide to the purpose of some hair pins, the best bobby pins, etc.




Leave a Reply.

    About the Author

    I am, as I will call myself on this blog for the sake of confidentiality and safety, Angie. I am a teen from the west coast, trying to find new, easy ways to do hair stylishly while avoiding damaging heat and chemical-filled hair products.

    PictureMe the first time I curled my hair with heat--Ever!

    Archives

    November 2013

    Categories

    All
    Hair Help/guides
    Product And Tool Reviews/recommendations